Was anyone else disappointed with Max Payne 3?

Please, tell me I’m not the only one!

Long cut-scene, firefight, long cut-scene, firefight.. how long could that possibly go on? Oh right, the rest of the game. Now while I applaud Rockstar for creating an amazing presentation with Max Payne 3, I was kind of shocked at the amount of linearity given their affinity for open world games. I understand that MP3 was a gritty story to be told and the best way to tell a story is to throw it in our faces, but the lack of variety kind of left me wanting a change when I hit the 4 or 5 hour mark of non-stop firefights.

Another thing that irked me was the amount of time I was forced to backtrack to locate missed painkillers after going through 3 or 4 firefights without a single one in sight. Sometimes it was just easier to die and start over at the last checkpoint. This wouldn’t have been an issue if there was something else to do in the game besides hide behind something and slow-mo poop out someones brains.

Maybe I’m being picky, I don’t know. I don’t think it was an awful game by any means, I just grew extremely bored of the same tired formula chapter after chapter and eventually traded it in to pick up Lollipop Chainsaw. I guess the point of this post is that I haven’t read a single negative thing about Max Payne 3 yet and I’m wondering if anyone else out there felt the same way. Am I being too picky or is Max Payne 3 just an over-budgeted cover-based shooter with a lot of focus on presentation and not a lot of emphasis on actual gameplay?

Leave a Reply

