The summer drought continues with Halo 3! Time to work the back catalog!

halo3

Summer is always a slow time for new releases, so I usually spend it catching up on my back catalog rather than picking up whatever comes out. This works out perfectly for obvious reasons as the end of the year not only brings a massive amount of new games, but this year will present the release of two brand new, next-gen consoles in the Xbox One and Playstation 4.

I’ve been working on my 360 collection since a majority of the exclusives I have left to polish off are 8-12 hour action/shooter games. I finally got around to finishing up Gears of War 3 the other day and today I put away Halo 3 so I can move on to Halo 4, ODST, Reach and then finish up the 360 with Alan Wake.

I’m surprised it took me this long to finish up Halo 3 since I had originally gone through the campaign on Legendary up to mission 7 with two of my friends. We got side tracked with Gears of War 2 around the same time and never looked back to Halo 3. I’m glad I decided to stick with it since I ended up feeling like it stood the test of time extremely well and it peaked my interest in Halo 4 even more.

How do you normally handle the summer drought with gaming? Do you work on your back catalog? I know The Last of Us was a pretty big release this summer, but I passed it up in favor of playing through some of the older stuff I have floating around.

Leave a Reply

