Weekend Gaming: What are You Playing?

The weekend is upon us once again, and if you’re a PlayStation owner who’s looking for something to get in to, you’re in luck — there’s a brand new flash sale on a ton of great games over at the PSN store.

Check out the full list of discounts right here.

I picked up Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE today at Best Buy, but since I ordered it online it won’t be here until next Wednesday. I also snagged Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward on Vita through the above flash sale. It’s something I’ve always wanted to play, but never got around to. $7.50 seemed too good to pass up.

I’m really tempted by Soul Sacrifice: Delta on Vita as well, since it’s only $7.19, but I don’t think I’d get to it any time soon.

Lately I’ve been playing a lot of Persona 4 Golden on Vita. I loved the PS2 version, so I’m thrilled to revisit one of my absolute favorite RPGs of all time. Great characters, art style, combat system, social links, and story. Just a phenomenal game overall.

Outside of that I’m finally working my way through Heavy Rain on PS3. I rented it from GameFly, thinking it was the PS4 version, but it’s fine. My PS3 is still hooked up, after all. I’m really digging the story, but the gameplay… yeesh. These controls are awful.

I don’t even mind the quick-time events and heavy narrative focus, it’s just the way Quantic Dream made something as simple as navigation such a chore. You hold R2 to make your character walk forward, adjusting their direction with the left analog. The direction you choose is based purely on the direction your character is facing as well, so if they’re looking toward the screen and you want them to go left, you have to tilt the analog right instead.

I’m 3 hours in and still haven’t gotten used to it.

My girlfriend and I will probably do some WoW leveling. She has a triple-XP boost that lasts until the 29th, so I’ve been helping her level some alts. Might as well take advantage of it while it lasts, right?

What about you folks? What are you getting in to this weekend?

10 thoughts on “Weekend Gaming: What are You Playing?

  1. Ah I cannot claim that I’m playing anything new. The “newest” game I’ve played in years is probably Child of Light, which is more of a throwback to the older RPG days with its Grandia II engine battle system, but I digress. I’m currently embroiled in what I call my Great Final Fantasy (Re)Play, Review, and Analysis. I’ve completed I-III and am currently replaying FFIV. I just completed a big writing project, so I’ve had time to get back to playing aaaaaaand am just level grinding right now, but I don’t mind. I enjoy the preparation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did something similar with every Silent Hill game in 2012, and I always wanted to play through each of the numbered FF games. I own them all in some capacity, and think it would be fun.

      Child of Light was really good, I thought. The rhyming narrative threw me off a bit, since it got to the point where they wanted things to rhyme more than tell a deeper story, but it was one of my favorites that year.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think I started this three years ago and I’m still just on IV, granted near the end, but it’s a loooooong project (longer than long cat ah why am I nerding myself up more hehe). It’s definitely fun and I’m finding more insights in replay and even ones in the ones I haven’t played before since I’ve played later ones, and I can see where certain paradigms come into play.

        I actually want to either replay Child of Light of find a good let’s play of it to watch. They did often force the rhyme, but I’d never heard of Lemuria prior to it and had no idea it was an actual “real” mythical place!

        Liked by 1 person

          1. I’ve played IV before and already have I-III done! III I ended up watching a Let’s Play of since I don’t have any version I could play. I’ve never played V so I’m excited about that being my next prospect. I’m probably going to do the Chrono Series as well since Chrono Trigger is fantastic and I want to give Chrono Cross another chance.

            Like

            1. Chrono Cross is hit or miss with a lot of fans, but I feel that had a lot to do with expectations. I think it’s an incredible game with interesting characters, an amazing soundtrack, and a neat take on combat. Hopefully you enjoy it!

              Liked by 1 person

            2. I loved the soundtrack, but felt there were too many characters, but not enough plot for them. This was more than a decade ago though so my thoughts upon reply might change. I try to give things more than one chance since all of my obsessions were fandoms I had absolutely no interest in at the outset, and what’s the point of living if you’re not going to grow and attempt another point of view?

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Tried some wildstar since its on Steam. Still not crazy about that WoW-esque grapical style, but enjoying the change in combat from tab-targetting. Will give it to level 20 to see what it offers gameplay wise.

    BDO has had some great updates lately, especially the 100-200% experience gain increase from combat. Might jump back in there as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I watched my girlfriend try Wildstar and she didn’t really care for it. Aside from WoW, I’ve put a decent amount of time in to Neverwinter (before it became a ridiculous cash-grab) and FFXIV, and maybe 40 or 50 hours in to ESO (which I didn’t care for), but I keep going back to my comfort food of Azeroth.

      Like

Leave a Reply

