Buried Under the Backlog

Every so often I pass by my game shelf, or turn on any one of my consoles, and crumble under the weight of my backlog. It’s fucking atrocious.

Sometimes it gets so bad that when it comes time to choose the next game, I don’t even know what to pick. Gaming anxiety is weird. Lately I’ve gone with shorter games just to feel like I’m crossing something off the list, but it’s not always what I want to play at that moment.

I’m really hoping to get out of that mindset.

This post is going to be a little boring to most, as it’s mainly a way for me to keep track of games that I own that I legitimately want to get to sooner rather than later.

In no particular order, this is what I’m working with:

  • Banjo-Kazooie (Xbox One)
  • Banjo-Tooie (Xbox One)
  • Alan Wake (Xbox One)
  • Red Dead Redemption (Xbox 360)
  • Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (PS3 or Vita)
  • Final Fantasy XIII (PS3)
  • Final Fantasy XIII-2 (PS3)
  • Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII (PS3)
  • Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remaster (PS3)
  • Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 Remaster (PS3)
  • Ico & Shadow of the Colossus HD Remaster (PS3)
  • Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch (PS3)
  • Metal Gear Solid HD Collection (PS3)
  • Metal Gear Solid 4 (PS3)
  • Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain (PS4)
  • Silent Hill: Homecoming (PS3)
  • Siren: Blood Curse episodes 1-13 (PS3)
  • Deadly Premonition: Director’s Cut (PS3)
  • Resident Evil: Revelations (PS3)
  • Resident Evil HD Remaster (PS4)
  • Resident Evil 0 HD Remaster (PS4)
  • Okami HD (PS3)
  • Until Dawn (PS4)
  • Bloodborne (PS4)
  • Dark Souls II: Scholar of the First Sin (PS4)
  • Dark Souls III (PS4)
  • Uncharted 3 (PS4)
  • Uncharted 4 (PS4)
  • Valkyria Chronicles Remastered (PS4)
  • Persona 4 Golden (Vita)
  • Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Vita)
  • Danganronpa 2: Goodbye Despair (Vita)
  • Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward (Vita)
  • Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth (3DS)
  • Shin Megami Tensei IV (3DS)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess HD Remaster (Wii U)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker HD (Wii U)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages (3DS VC)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Seasons (3DS VC)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening (3DS VC)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time (Wii U VC)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask (Wii U VC)
  • Xenoblade Chronicles X (Wii U)
  • Fatal Frame: Maiden of Black Water (Wii U)
  • Rule of Rose (PS2)
  • Kuon (PS2)
  • Haunting Ground (PS2)
  • Silent Hill 4: The Room (Xbox)
  • The Banner Saga (PS4)
  • Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE (Wii U)
  • Assassin’s Creed Syndicate (PS4)
  • Fire Emblem: Awakening (3DS)

So yeah, lots of lengthy RPGs and open-world games. The odds of making a dent in this list is slim to none, but at least I won’t be running out of things to play anytime soon. I’m not looking forward to the Final Fantasy XIII trilogy, but they’re the only FF games I haven’t played and my gaming OCD demands it.

What’s your backlog like right now? Equally depressing?

3 thoughts on “Buried Under the Backlog

  1. Your backlog is smaller than mines :].

    I would vote for Fire Emblem Awakening or any of the Zelda games being your next game to play, but that’s because I’m a huge fanboy of those titles.

    And you’re not missing much by skipping FF13-Lightning Returns. I’m not a FF fan by any means,but those games were terrible in my opinion.

    I’ve got about 50-60 games on my backlog at the moment. I’m slowly cutting it down. I’m hoping I’ll be down to about 30 by the end of the year.

    Like

    1. I have hundreds of unplayed games, but this is just the list of stuff I’d rather get to sooner rather than later. I’m trying my hand at this whole “prioritize” thing, haha.

      Fire Emblem is probably my next game. I really want to get in to that and check out the new ones.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

