It’s the Freakin’ Weekend: What are You Playing?

I picked up Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE on Wii U and started it last night. It definitely feels more like a Persona game than something from the Fire Emblem series, and I’m okay with that. Not that I dislike Fire Emblem, it’s just that I much prefer classic turn-based combat to FE’s grid-based strategic approach.

And as a huge fan of Persona, or Shin Megami Tensei in general, it’s safe to say I’m having a great time.

Combat has the Persona feel, where it’s best to discover and exploit enemy weaknesses. Unlike Persona 4, where targeting a weakness grants the character another turn, each of the game’s cast members learn abilities that chain off of the current attacker instead. Called session attacks, you can essentially have every member of your party attack during a single character’s turn, pending you play it smart.

I’m also a sucker for material collecting and weapon crafting, both of which are present. If you’re short on time, there’s a $5 DLC pack that adds three repeatable dungeons: one for easier xp grinds, one for easier skill grinds, and one that has powerful monsters that drop items used for weapon upgrades. I bough it strictly to support the game’s North America release, but it’s ending up as a crucial time saver.

Rather than summoning Persona, you summon characters from the Fire Emblem universe (like Chrom, Caeda, and Cain), called mirages, which I think is both a nice touch and a clever way to use the Fire Emblem cast in a major role without them being central characters.

I dig the colorful, flashy aesthetic, though I imagine the focus on Japan’s idol culture will be a bit of a turnoff for casual RPG players, or those mainly interested in the more serious tone of Fire Emblem. Persona has always had weird shit going on, though. I mean, c’mon, you summon your persona in the third game by putting a bullet in your head, and spend your time jumping through television sets in Persona 4. It’s just par for the course.

Since I had my Wii U ready to roll in anticipated for Tokyo Mirage, I rented Devil’s Third from GameFly. It was visually dated and ran worse than an N64 game, but there was a small part of me deep inside that kind of enjoyed it. It’s campy, akin to something Suda 51 or Swery would do, just not as polished. And that’s saying something. After three or four hours I decided I’d had enough, packed it up, and shipped it back yesterday.

Star Fox Zero arrived today, which I’m kind of excited about. I loathe motion controls, but I hear you can shut those off in the options menu. Fingers crossed.

For helping out (though she knows I don’t expect anything in return) my mom actually bought me The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess bundle with the Wolf Link amiibo. Feels weird being 34 and saying my mom bought me a game, but hey, she appreciates the help and knows what my hobbies are, so who am I to argue?

I know I’ll probably play more Persona 4 Golden on Vita as well. I’ve just been kind of busy lately helping my mom take care of her dog and running back and forth to get my laptop repaired. Otherwise I’m sure I’d be done with it.

Outside of gaming, my girlfriend and I started watching the Scream TV series. It’s not good, but not too bad either. The whodunnit aspect is spot on with the films, though some of the acting is a bit hard to swallow.

What about you folks? What are you getting in to this weekend?

16 thoughts on “It’s the Freakin’ Weekend: What are You Playing?

  1. Not huge on Persona, but I love Etrian Odyssey and Shin Megami Tensei so Tokyo Mirage is definitely on my radar. Unfortunately I can’t purchase it yet because of bills and real life stuff so…

    I would prefer a more tactical combat system like Fire Emblem’s, but I’m not totally against turn based combat as long it doesn’t get repetitive to me.

    I never bothered to play The Devil’s Third. Just didn’t interest me at all.

    I started playing The Division again. I’m preparing my character for all the DLC coming up. Underground is already here, but instead of starting that I’m helping my wife reach level 30 so we can go through it together.

    I’m also still playing The Witcher 3. I’m pushing level 30 and I’m right on Ciri’s trail so I don’t have too much further to go before I can start the expansions.

    I also started playing through my second favorite gaming series of all time again. I’m currently playing Dragon Age Inquisition and I’m about 40 hours in with my latest character. I plan on playing through Origins and II again too. I can never get enough Dragon Age in my life. I’ll most likely just focus on The Witcher, and The Division this weekend because I’m so close to that dlc that I really want to play in The Witcher and I still have a long way to go in Inquisition.

    Like

    1. I think I wanted to play Devil’s Third mostly because of its reputation, but boy howdy was that game a hot bag of boiled dog shit.

      None of my friends are playing The Division anymore, or at least not that I can tell. Hopefully the DLC is good and keeps the game moving along. It’s cool that it’s something you and the lady can play together.

      Witcher 3 is so, so good. Same with Dragon Age. I didn’t even think 2 was that bad, but I’ve played through Origins and Awakening on multiple occasions and I’ve been throwing around the idea of revisiting DA:I during my next school break to check out the DLC.

      I’m only 4 hours in to Tokyo Mirage, so I can’t really say for sure whether or not the combat will get repetitive, but so far I really dig it. You can even attack enemies out in the wild by swinging your sword, which incapacitates them. It’s a nice way to breeze through some of the dungeon content if you just want to press the story along.

      Have a fun weekend, dude.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I just picked up Virtue’s Last Reward during the PSN Sale, since I never got around to it. It sounds like something I’d really enjoy, so no doubt Zero Escape 3 is on my list of things to pick up later on.

      Like

            1. I never picked up the DS game. I got my DS really, really late and there were so many other games I wanted to play. I’ll have to watch an LP of 999 before I start Virtue’s Last Reward.

              Like

Leave a Reply

