It’s the Freakin’ Weekend: What are You Playing?

We’re nearing the end of this week’s Summer Games Done Quick speedruns for charity, and with two days still remaining they’ve already managed to raise $566,037.00 USD for Doctors Without Borders.

I watch AGDQ and SGDQ every year, and 2016’s offering has been memorable so far. I’ve seen a guy finish Castlevania: Symphony of the Night while blindfolded, another play through Catherine’s co-op mode by himself while using two controllers, a tense 3-on-3 relay race of Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze, and the original BioShock broken and beaten in under an hour.

If you’re interested in watching the charity stream, this weekend is one hell of a time to join in. Today there’s a huge block of Kirby, Mario, and Mega Man speedruns today, and later tonight around midnight EST they’re tackling one of the greatest games of all time, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, in an attempt to beat it in under 4 hours.

Tomorrow is technically the last day for speedruns, as the SGDQ runners will be breaking and zooming through classics like Super Metroid, Pikmin, Final Fantasy VI, Pokemon Red, and Super Mario RPG.

There’s small intermissions between games, but otherwise there’s speedruns going on all day and night until 3am EST on Sunday. You can find the full schedule here.

Outside of watching SGDQ 2016, I’ll be working my way through Adventures of Mana on Vita. I’m still working through Persona 4, but there’s too much going on in that game that I can’t properly digest it while watching speedruns on Twitch. Adventures of Mana is a very easy, very basic action RPG, so it’s the perfect fit.

I remember playing it as Final Fantasy Adventure on GameBoy, and it appears they just gave it a 3D facelift and not much else. The inventory system is incredibly annoying, as you only have one button that uses items in your inventory. You have limited inventory space as well, so having to dedicate large portions of it to keys, pickaxes, and pieces of candy to restore health certainly doesn’t help matters.

If a door is locked you have to open your inventory, equip a key, then walk through the door. Once you leave the screen though, the door shuts behind you and locks itself again. Why would I need to use another key to unlock a door I just unlocked 5 seconds ago?

If you want to break rocks to open up new passageways, you have to open the inventory and equip a one-time-use pickaxe. Then I have to open my inventory again, unequip the pickaxe, equip my curative or damage dealing spell, a potion, or an antidote to cure poison (since damn near everything in the early game can poison you). It’s a lot of unnecessary menu surfing that constantly gets in the way of the action. It’s fine otherwise, though.

I played a bit of Star Fox Zero and didn’t care for the controls. It was manageable when I turned off the gyroscopic controls, since I hate when games make me divert my attention back and forth between the TV and the Wii U GamePad screen, but man, that boss camera is fucking terrible. There’s no way around it — you have to use the GamePad screen during boss fights to aim and shoot. Why?

GameFly just sent Mario Maker, but I doubt it’ll arrive before the weekend is over. I’m looking forward to it though.

What are you folks getting in to this weekend?

8 thoughts on “It’s the Freakin’ Weekend: What are You Playing?

  1. I’ve been a bit of a gaming break this week. I haven’t done much gaming at all. I played an hour of The Division today, but don’t really plan on doing anything except working this weekend with my dad.

    I might play some 3DS games. I recently started playing the Etrian Odyssey games again and I’m currently trying to save up enough money to buy Tokyo Mirage Sessions, but that’s about it. Netflix/working will most likely get most of my weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been away from my consoles a lot lately, so I’ve been playing a bit of 3DS and Vita stuff. Right now Persona 4 Golden is my main game, but I started following a guide to build social links and unlock trophies, so I can’t really do that on the go. Well, I can, but it’s annoying. I picked up Etrain Odyssey IV I think during a sale, but never touched it. Really liked Persona Q’s map system so I figured I’d give the source material a try.

      Have fun, dude!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

