Game Review | Sword Art Online: Hollow Realization — The Buttonsmashers

My freelanced review for Sword Art Online: Hollow Realization went up last night over at The Buttonsmashers. Video review editing and narration does by @TheHatPerson.

Sword Art Online: Hollow Realization is the latest video game adaptation based on the wildly popular anime. In the original story arc, Kirito and friends found themselves trapped inside of the VRMMO world of Aincrad, where dying in the game meant dying in real life. After successfully defeating Akihiko Kayaba and freeing those trapped inside…

via Game Review | Sword Art Online: Hollow Realization — The Buttonsmashers

23 thoughts on “Game Review | Sword Art Online: Hollow Realization — The Buttonsmashers

    1. Thanks for checking it out, dude! That fake-MMO feel really clicked with me for whatever reason, but I mainly enjoyed the game as a fan of the anime series. Had I not been interested in the source material, I would have bailed on the game after a few hours. Very… average, I guess is a good term.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If it does, it’ll probably be #10. That’s purely based on personal enjoyment of certain aspects, but if I were to score it I wouldn’t give it above a 6/10 on a good day. Still, 6’s can be fun if they resonate with the player.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve played some great 6’s. Some games can be incredibly flawed, but still have some nice features that give the player enjoyment. There’s always room for improvement in a sequel too.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Right now my top 10 has about 20 titles on it :). What I do is write down every game I enjoyed this year and scratch them off over time. I think I got my list down to about 13. I hope you enjoy FFXV. I can see myself dropping $30 on it if it ever releases on PC. Square Enix is known to give half ass PC ports of their FF games.

        Like

      4. I usually jot down the games I really like that year and then insert the new games I play somewhere on the list. I’ll probably do what I did last year and narrow it down to my 10 favorites, with a separate special mentions list or something for games that either came out prior to 2016 on another console, or some other criteria.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I usually have a special mentions too if I think some games deserve to be in my top ten, but didn’t make the cut in the end.

        I wish I only had 10 favorites, but I played so many good games this year :)

        Like

      6. Same, it’ll be tough to narrow it down. And there’s even tons I missed out on, like Gears of War 4, XCOM 2, Grand Kingdom, and still haven’t made a dent in Dark Souls 3 or Uncharted 4.

        Like

      7. I feel your pain. The bright side you’ll have plenty to catch up on when things slow down in gaming.

        Pokemon Sun/Moon is definitely making my list this year. Fantastic games all round. Xcom 2 was great by the way. It can be insanely hard at times, but it’s fantastic.

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I’m… still undecided about Resident Evil 7. Resident Evil is one of my favorite franchises and I don’t really care for this new one at all. I’m hoping it proves me wrong, but I don’t really care for it right now.

        Like

      9. I enjoyed the demo, but IMO the Outlast 2 demo was superior in every way. I honestly loathed RE5 and 6 and the many bad spinoffs (aside from Revelations) and I’m glad Capcom is taking the series in a different direction. At least it’s back to its horror roots, rather than carrying tons of weapons and ammo and shooting down monsters in broad daylight. I need that horror attitude back! I’m cautiously optimistic, but there’s no way I’m passing on a new Resident Evil. I just can’t.

        Like

      10. Resident Evil 5 is my favorite Resident Evil game of all time. I even managed to get some enjoyment out of Resident Evil 6, but it was a mess of a game.

        I’m not a fan of the switch to first person. I just don’t like it in my Resident Evil games. Call the game something else because this is not a Resident Evil game. The Evil Within was the last real Resident Evil game I played.

        I never got into Outlast and I have very low expectations for Outlast 2. I hate the run/hide gimmick that it uses. I want to defend myself not cower in fear from a monster that doesn’t even scare me. Games like bore me.

        Like

  1. Great review! It definitely sounds like a case of *For fans only* though I still enjoyed hearing about what it all entailed. Too bad it doesn’t seem like it does much for newcomers though.

    Like

    1. Thanks!

      There are two early cutscenes that go over the 1st and 2nd story arcs in a nutshell to get people up to speed, but I don’t think it’s enough to draw in and keep a hold of those who are unfamiliar with the anime. Sword Art is all about the world and the characters, and without prior attachment to those things there’s just not enough it does well to recommend enduring its shortcomings.

      I still had a lot of fun as a fan.

      Like

  2. Shame about the grammatical errors. You would have thought that they would have learnt their lesson after the hilariously poor translation of the last SAO Vita game. Sounds like the game is best enjoyed online with mates. That said, based on my Overwatch experiences, some human players can be far dumber than poorly coded AI companions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The original Vita version of the first SAO game, Hollow Fragment, had awful translation issues but the PS4 release apparently fixed some of that. It’s nothing that can’t be corrected with a patch, but man, I’ve seen fan games with better quality control in their dialogue.

      I had a fun time by myself, but the staying power lies in farming the raid and world bosses with friends for better loot. It’s definitely an average JRPG, but if you like the anime you’ll find something to enjoy in there.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

