It’s the Freakin’ Weekend! So What are You Playing?

We’re one weekend closer to the end of 2016. How will you be spending it?

It took nearly 48 hours, but I completed Sword Art Online: Hollow Realization. I tried jumping in to Dragon Ball Xenoverse 2 and God Eater: Resurrection afterwards, but neither of them stuck. I just wasn’t in the mood for repetitive grinding, I guess.

I wanted something more linear and easier to swallow, so I started the reboot of Doom last night. Man, what a game.

I actually rented Doom a few days after my dad passed away, but I just wasn’t in the mood for… well, anything. Right now though, it’s just what the doctor ordered. It’s gorgeous, fluid, and pulse pounding, from the ferocious monster designs and their aggressive A.I. to the demonically delicious world design. It’s shaping up to be one of my favorite games of the year.

Doom should (hopefully) be finished before Final Fantasy XV releases, seeing as how I’m already docked at the halfway point. If I can muscle through it ahead of schedule, I may try and squeeze in the Dishonored remaster as well since I know someone got me Dishonored 2 for Christmas.

With finals week and my Sword Art review keeping me busy, I didn’t have time to catch up on comics. My girlfriend and I watched the new Ice Age (which was great, btw) and Lights Out (which was not great, btw), but otherwise the last two weeks of the Fall semester have been the opposite of enjoyable.

I caved during the PlayStation Black Friday sale and picked up Darksiders 2: Deathinitive Edition, Just Cause 3 with its season pass, and Far Cry Primal with its season pass for about $45. I limited myself to $50, so that worked out nicely.

What about you folks? What are you getting in to this weekend?

47 thoughts on “It’s the Freakin’ Weekend! So What are You Playing?

  1. Bioshock: The Collection is screaming out to me in an intimate fashion at this current moment. It’s on the Xbox Black Friday event for £30 or so. I’m toying with the idea, but is that a lot of money for what will essentially be just a nostalgia trip? A really… really… really fun, remastered, 1080p nostalgia trip…?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh dear. You’ve really thrown the cat amongst the pigeons now! I never managed the DLC for any of them, and that’s the most tempting thing about the collection. But what about the other 200+ games that are waiting for me? Why is life so full of these decisions?

        Like

        1. I’ve been buried under my backlog forever and there’s no end in sight, haha. Minerva’s Den for BioShock 2 is incredible! Same writer did Gone Home.

          On the plus side, at least you can finish up each game in about 7 or 8 hours! It’s those 50+ hour RPGs that make the backlog overwhelming.

          Like

        1. I just wanted to explore the mall and wear silly clothes while fighting the bosses, not micromanage my time. I understood the appeal though. Just wasn’t for me. Glad DR3 made the timer incredibly lax. I didn’t rush anything and had plenty of time to finish the campaign. Even replayed it twice with friends online. I think the new DR4 got rid of the timer altogether, outside of a specific hardcore mode or something.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I am working this weekend so my gaming time will be limited. If I get a free moment I will keep plugging away on Root Letter for the Vita. Once I finish reading that I shall make a start on Steins;Gate 0. Hopefully it will be good. A site gave it 5/10 because all you do is press x and read. Great reviewer haha.

    Like

    1. I saw that review and I was thinking… how is the concept of a visual novel so hard to grasp? Why in the world would that person even bother playing it?

      Root Letter looks great. It’s on my wishlist waiting for a sale. I was hoping the original Steins would go on sale to help the launch of 0, but that wasn’t the case. Looking forward to your review of Root Letter, should you plan on doing one.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice! They did a great job with the remaster, I thought. Even the Vita version seems to run great. I never got around to X-2. Should probably fix that at some point.

      I *do* wish they did what they did for Final Fantasy 7’s port and have options that help speed up the grinding for those of us that just want to casually play through the story bits. I love FF7, but not having to grind out levels was a godsend.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I never got around to X-2 either but it came with this time so once I finish my play through of X I will probably check it out. So next year sometime given the rate at which I finish Final Fantasy games.

        Like

          1. My problem is I get distracted. When playing XIII I kept wanting to max out the characters rather than finish the story and then I got stuck trying to beat the six trials and couldn’t beat the fifth and sixth ones so kept randomly running around to get stronger and going back. Eventually I just finished the game but by that stage I was overpowered to the point where none of the other fights made even the slightest bit of impact. In X I get distracted by Blitz which is a stupid game but I just want to make the strongest team in the league.

            Like

            1. Moments like that make me kind of wish they kept those super strong bosses away until the point of no return near the final boss. Sometimes being overpowered is a nice reward for all the time I spent grinding, but getting to an important boss fight and steamrolling it in three turns kind of kills the immersion.

              Liked by 1 person

    1. Thumper looks really rad. It’d definitely be on my radar if I had PSVR. It’s not available as a standard game, is it?

      I almost picked up Virginia during the Xbox Black Friday sale. The Twin Peaks comparison drew my attention immediately.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t have PSVR, so Thumper certainly doesn’t need it! As I understand it it doesn’t really add much to it. It’s good, but very hard!
        I’m a big Twin Peaks fan too so that’s why I picked it up. £4.50 seems a fair price for a couple of hours I’d say.

        Like

        1. Ohhhh shit, I had no idea! I’ve always thought Thumper was just a VR game. Need to add that to my wishlist.

          I figure I pay $15 to see a 2 hour movie, or $5 for a lunch meal I finish within 15 minutes, so $10 for a 2-3 hour game is entirely reasonable. I think it’s on sale for $7 right now.

          Like

  3. I spent about 5 hours playing WOFF today since I took off for Black Friday. Thankfully, I don’t work in retail at all. My company was open today (banks only can close one day during the week), but it’s usually never a problem me taking off or if I can’t, I can usually get permission to, er, work from home, but I have the distinct feeling I might not have gotten much work in had I done that :p

    I managed to imprism both Shiva and Ifrit while messing around in the coliseum. I was attempting to go back in for Glow Moogles, and those two summons have a percentage chance of showing up. I also unlocked the champions so now I have the potential to call up Sephiroth in battle. To say I’m stoked would be an understatement. I’m hoping to either play some more tonight after my husband gets his fill of Destiny or hop back on the sticks tomorrow. And you just reminded me I need to do my weekly check of the PSN store!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tales from the Borderlands is $2 on PS4, which is the best deal on there. Even if you don’t think you care for Borderlands it’s SUCH A GOOD ADVENTURE SERIES!

      *ahem*

      Now, where were we?

      I’ve been reading your FFIV review throughout the day between homework and dabbling in the Doom reboot. Lots of depth! I love reading good long-form reviews!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Is this based on the Borderlands series? I like that series! Or what I’ve seen of it, but YOU are a bad influence! I shouldn’t be buying more games before Christmas time. I already dropped around $20 on I Am Setsuna lol.

        Oh yes…my 15k word review. I can’t even imagine how long my review of FFVII is going to be when I get to that D: Also, aren’t homework and Doom basically the same thing? I know I’d prefer to battle death, just sayin’ Honestly, I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I do yammer on :)

        Like

        1. Yep! It’s the best Borderlands game IMO, even more so than the co-op shooters. The writing is insanely good.

          I’m an enabler!

          I usually jot down all of the different blog posts I want to read and go through them over the weekend, especially the longer review type posts, but I had a migraine all day yesterday and haven’t finished reading your review yet. Hopefully today!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I use both weekend days to catch up on the blog posts and comments! I have the blog I really want to read set to go to my email so they’re all in one place and I won’t miss them. I’m really a slacker when it comes to checking the WordPress reader, and the app for it is full of fail. It doesn’t update properly so I’ll miss things I want to read if I don’t use the email option. If I get an email, I might not get to it right away, but I’ll get to it eventually. Since you do your weekend gaming post on the, well, weekend, I usually get to reply to that fairly quickly.

            Ugh migraines are no good. I have extremely light sensitive eyes, which supremely sucks since both my job and writing/blogging life consists of sitting in front of a screen. Hopefully it goes away soon. My review will always be there!

            Like

            1. I wonder if it’s the same issues I have with my iPhone. I can go to my reader, but it’ll only load things from like two weeks ago! You can’t search for individual blogs, so if I were trying to get to your page, oh well. They really need to update it. It’s embarrassing.

              Like

            2. The problem with the one on Android is that I get notifications of replies to my blog, but the option to reply to comments never works. It never registers that I’m tapping on “reply,” not once since I’ve downloaded it.

              Like

  4. I’m sorry to hear about your Dad. I can’t imagine how awful that must have been. I hope you continue to enjoy Doom and reach your goal of beating it before FFXV launch! :)

    I have ReCore and Fallout 4 on the go. I’ve had Fallout 4 since launch and just did the “Go to diamond city” quest last weekend, lol. I plan to focus on it again this weekend, time willing. ReCore is going on the back burner until I’m done with it. I’m hoping there will be a patch that fixes all those stupidly long load times by the time I get back to it…

    Like

    1. Thanks, it was definitely a rough time.

      I had fun with ReCore during the first 3 hours or so, and then the repetition and tedium set in. The load times are just absurd and they never get better. They already released a patch to “fix” the load times, but it didn’t do anything and it’s been radio silent about a future update. Such wasted potential. I’ve never in my life played a game that got in its own way as much as ReCore. Between the ridiculous load times, having to constantly go back to my crawler to switch out my bots or upgrade them, or do challenge dungeons/farm crystals just to progress, I just couldn’t bring myself to finish the game. Hopefully you enjoy it more than I did.

      I was late to the Fallout 4 party as well, haha. I think I beat it around February or March this year.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m getting weak at the knees for the new DOOM (CAPITALS NECESSARY), hoping for it for Christmas. I played the beta and the demo and LOVED them both. I was bitten by the Black Friday bug myself, and bought Titanfall 2 and Watch Dogs 2, so I’ll be dabblin’ around with them for bit, as well as Skate 3, seeing that it recently became backwards compatible and it’s so darn fun.
    Milo.

    Like

  6. Eh, I’m just playin’ Rocket League, Fifa and bits and pieces of Trackmania Turbo and Star Wars Battlefront, as per usual really. Waiting for Christmas for Titanfall 2, Overwatch, Ratchet & Clank, Steep and The Last Guardian, PS4-wise. Want the latest Kirby, Rhythm Paradise and Pokémon on dat 3DS too. Can’t wait to play those, assuming I’ll get at least some of ’em.

    By the way, your site is really cool, surprised we never found it before!
    Reuben

    Like

    1. There seems to be a ton of undiscovered gaming blogs here on WordPress that I’d never know existed without the help of comment sections lol.

      I fell in love with Rocket League last year and played a ton of FIFA 17 near launch this year. Really dug The Journey mode and hopefully they continue something like that in their Madden and NHL series. A story mode in a sports game was something I never knew I wanted until then.

      Titanfall 2 has an excellent campaign but I didn’t dabble in the multiplayer before returning the rental. I have Ratchet & Clank on my Christmas list as well and since it was down to $10 during Black Friday I’m sure I’ll end up with it one way or another.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Actually playing FIFA 16 at the moment, but I’ve played some of 17 and it seems better (huge part down to The Journey). I can’t wait to play Titanfall 2, looks really fun, and Ratchet & Clank I can’t wait for even more. Rocket League is legendary – top ten games category!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m replaying some Giana Sisters Twisted Dreams. My nieces wanted to play it when I brought a stack of Wii U games to my sister’s on Thanksgiving. They really enjoyed it in spite of the high difficulty. The older one even made it around five stages in! Suffice it to say it put me in the mood to play it again, and I even managed to beat the first boss stage on Hardcore mode. Which is very old school. No checkpoints, if you die, you start the entire stage over from the beginning.

    Other than that, playing some Toxikk post patch. The latest patch nerfed the Dragoneer (Flamethrower) but tweaked the netcode, improved performance, and buffed some of the weaker guns.

    I’ll probably get in some Overwatch too since some of my friends have been drooling over recent updates in that game.

    Like

    1. Nice! I’m an only child and never really got to play games with my cousins since my mom’s siblings didn’t have kids until I was already 13. They’ve always lived pretty far away too, so it was nice visiting them on Thanksgiving and Easter a few years back and seeing that they had 360’s and stuff in their house. We got to play some Call of Duty: World at War zombies a bit, but that’s all they’re in to really. Still fun. I give them some of my games when I finish them now that one of my cousins has an Xbox One.

      Glad you go to share your games with your sisters and nieces.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I love my nieces. They seem to enjoy it when I show them old or obscure games. They’re impressive at Kart, and Smash. A year ago, I thought I’d have to go easy on them, and throw matches. Not now! They picked those games up quick!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

