It’s the Freakin’ Weekend! So What are You Playing?

We’ve almost made it through the first official week of 2017! Congratulations! How are we celebrating?

fireemblem

For the most part I’ve been playing through Fire Emblem: Awakening on 3DS, which I’m in love with. For those not in the know, it’s one of the landmark strategy role-playing games, similar to Final Fantasy Tactics or Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together, but with a catch: the characters that die in your game are gone forever. Awakening is full of great writing and character development, interesting combat, and if the whole permadeath thing doesn’t appeal to you, you can elect to turn it off by playing in “normal” mode.

In this specific playthrough I made my Robin (the player character) male and married Tharja. As a fellow mage, he probably thinks dark magic is sexy and mysterious. I also made sure Chrom ended up with Sumia, Vaike with Sully, Virion with Cherche, and put Lon’qu with Cordelia. I had Fredrick paired up with the dancer, Olivia, but he and Lucina are a monster pair on the battlefield and that’s something I just can’t live without.

Relationships are crucial in Fire Emblem: Awakening. You can pair two fighters together in combat, which not only applies various stat boosts and potentially increases movement distance on the battle grid, but based on their affection levels they’ll step in to deflect blows, deliver counter attacks, or attack alongside them while on the offensive.

fire-emblem-awakening-combat

Having a friend or lover save another character from a potential death blow, quite literally, is a great feeling that makes the grind rewarding. For instance, Cordelia is my 2nd favorite female character in the game (just under Tharja) and toward the end of a battle she was taken down to 2 health points by the enemy units. There were only 2 of them left, it was their turn to attack, and I thought for sure that poor Cordelia was about to rip in peace. However, thanks to her relationship with Lon’qu, he stepped in with a clutch deflection on both of their attacks and she ended up killing them with her counter strikes. Many chapters later, Cordelia still lives to fight another day.

I’ve had a few close calls that delightedly ended in jubilation, and these are the moments that’ll stick with me the most. Anyway, Fire Emblem: Awakening is an incredible game on 3DS and one that any owner of the handheld should experience. I’m definitely glad I stuck with it this year.

My first game completion of 2017 happened yesterday, with the indie parkour platformer Ninja Pizza Girl on PS4. I was given this game by Cathy over at Indie Gamer Chick during her #IndieXmas gift giving extravaganza on Twitter, so thank you for that.

It’s a cute little game about a pizza delivery girl who wants to be a ninja, but suffers from bullying and depression as she’s not accepted by the ninja community (who also strives to put her father’s pizza company out of business). Each stage acts as a separate delivery mission, where you’ll platform and parkour your way from door to door. As Gemma struggles to fit in, heartbroken by rejection, she’s cheered up by the customers that remind her it’s okay to be different.

Ninja Pizza Girl is a sweet concept, but I didn’t find the gameplay very enjoyable. It starts off simple enough, using elementary platforming mechanics to leap, wall jump, and slide under things, and steadily increases the difficulty by inserting bully ninjas that need to be dealt with in specific ways. It’s accessible, which broadens the audience. However, there were times where it felt half-baked and unresponsive.

Once Gemma gets going, the electronica music starts pumping, and a power-up triggers the slow-motion camera, there’s just a little too much going on to keep track of. The darker color scheme found littering the environments don’t help either. However, I still enjoyed the story and have no regrets with the 2 hours I spent completing it.

Side-note: I’ve started comprising an ever-growing list of my 2017 game completions, which I’ve dubbed The Bounty Board. It can be found right here. I’m hoping that by tracking my progress I’ll remain motivated on my quest to tackle the never-ending backlog.

rokenk
Well hello there, green Charmander with a corpse stuffed inside.

Outside of playing games, I’ve started watching Hungry Goriya’s episodic LP of the Sega Master System JRPG Miracle Warriors: Seal of the Dark Lord. I’ve attended most of her live streams, but the YouTube uploads are actually part of a separate playthrough. My schedule is all over the place and I’m pretty invested in the game as a whole, so I don’t want to miss anything! I think she’s playing through Ys or the original Phantasy Star next, which I can’t wait for.

I’ve also been meaning to start Christopher Odd’s LP of The Last Guardian, which I’ve yet to do. He recently uploaded the first hour of his Undertale run, which was a fun watch, but it’s part of a new series where he plays bits and pieces of games that have been recommended a bunch. He then weighs the feedback received to determine if it’s something he’ll continue playing. Undertale is possibly my favorite game of the last decade and my fingers are crossed that he’ll keep on keepin’ on.

What about you folks? What are you up to this weekend?

25 thoughts on “It’s the Freakin’ Weekend! So What are You Playing?

  1. I managed to pick up Dying Light: The Following Enhanced Edition for a measly £14. That’s around $17 in the US I believe. I dont know how much your typical game is over there, but this felt like an absolute steal. I’ve only done the prologue so far, but looks like a fun game. I’ll probably be cracking on with that during the evenings (so soiling myself is a little less frowned upon), and maybe something else during the day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dying Light is a good one, for sure. I really like what I’ve played of it, though it did take some getting used to (platforming with a shoulder button was and still is a bit odd). There’s a whole lot of game in the core version, let alone the expansion, so $17 USD is definitely a steal. $60 USD is our new release retail price here in the states, and that one in particular is probably around $40 USD right now. Great price! Hopefully you continue to enjoy it!

      You probably won’t soil yourself until you get stuck somewhere and night falls. That game is absolutely terrifying at night, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. YASS! How are you liking it? Is it living up to the hype? Because HOLY DAMN is that a great series!

      I picked up The Evil Within bundle with the season pass for $20 around Halloween last year, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. I watched someone else play the game entirely, along with all of the DLC (which look really cool).

      Never heard of Book of Demons. Assuming it’s PC, then?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, it’s a Steam game with a great aesthetic. Quite simplistic but lovely to play if you want something fairly light. It’s pretty good so far, I’ve only read the first chapter of the first book but I’m very engaged!

        Like

  2. I’ve been playing a LOT of a futuristic racer on PC. In fact, I just posted this week’s review on it. It is awesome. I’ve noticed it doesn’t have a lot of buzz, and I wish it did. Because it is so good. I’ll likely play more of it over the weekend because It’s been so fun. It’s a little cult racer from Italy called Redout.

    Ninja Pizza girl looks intriguing though. Apparently it is also on Steam, So I’ll putting that on the radar!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Redout sounds really familiar. I’ll have to give the Steam page a gander.

      NPG was fun, just not… well, good? It’s cute and sends a positive anti-bullying message, which is rad, but I didn’t much care for the actual gamey bits.

      Like

  3. I had way too much fun playing matchmaker in FE Awakening, lol. It’s such an awesome game! Ninja Pizza Girl sounds like a character I can relate to, so I guess I’m adding another game to my never-ending wishlist…

    Enjoy your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, the whole time I’m playing I’m thinking about changing classes and couples on my next playthrough.

      NPG is cute and has a great message, I just didn’t like the gamey bits much. It’s just as long as any normal movie though, so it’s not something that’s going to take up a lot of your time (which is always nice).

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m at a point in Miracle Warriors where I need to grind and I don’t wanna. But I will probably stream some this weekend! I hope you enjoy your weekend, and congrats on getting through a few games already!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m at that point in Fire Emblem: Awakening. Grinding is fine, it’s an easy way to pass a half hour when you just want something mindless as a distraction, but right now I just want to continue the story.

      We ended up cancelling our trip this weekend due to inclement weather further north along the east coast. It’s not bad here, really, but more so the states we’d be driving through along the way. Don’t want to get stuck away from home with the cats here fending for themselves!

      But with the weekend free, hopefully I’ll be around to catch the next stream of Miracle Warriors: Medi Likes Murder.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was a smart move to stay close to home. Winter weather can change in a heartbeat, and your poor kitties would be awfully sad dueling one another for the last semblance of food if you were gone for longer than planned!

        I am hoping to get a ton of work done this afternoon and stream tonight. I will tweet at folks when I’m 100% sure, but I’m thinking it’ll be a go. I just need to buckle down and do it, though it’ll be a bit of a boring stream unless you like seeing my party get slaughtered over and over again. That was the theme of the last one. :P

        Like

        1. Dying is a constant in Miracle Warriors, so I’m in it for the long haul (lol). We ended up getting less than an inch of snow, but everywhere we would have had to drive through got slammed pretty bad. So we definitely dodged a bullet.

          Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so behind in my blog subs…I think I got some hours of WOFF in? I recall being up until five in the morning, so that’s what I was probably doing (by that time my brain has nothing left for writing or reading or just general coherence, but I can do some grinding, Mirage hunting, or the coliseum). I need to pick my DS back up and stop being a slacker with that.

    Like

  6. I spent my weekend working on my goty award article, but I did get some gaming in. I started my first survival playthrough in Fallout 4 and I’m loving it so far. I also played a little Plants vs Zombies Garden Warfare 2. Not much gaming over the weekend for me :).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

