It’s the Freakin’ Weekend! So What are You Playing?

The weekend is finally upon us! What’s on your agenda?

tms

Since the last weekend wrap-up, I’ve managed to finish Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE. I was riding high on the game going in to chapter 5, but it committed the cardinal RPG sin of needlessly recycling content, puzzles, and boss fights for most of the remainder. It was still thoroughly enjoyable, but that kind of stuff is eye-rolling.

My final timer was around 60 hours, and at least 55 of those felt like a solid 9/10 RPG. It’s easily my favorite game on the Wii U, would have landed at #3 on my Top 10 Games of 2016 had I played it last year, and it’s one of the finest JRPGs to release during this console generation. If you own the console and you’re interested in the genre or Tokyo Mirage’s source material, it’s a must-play.

After Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE, I made my way through the cyberpunk visual novel/adventure game 2064: Read Only Memories on PS4. I’ll spare you the details since I already reviewed it here at Cheap Boss Attack, but the TL;DR version is that it’s a rad game with beautiful visuals, characters, sounds, and storytelling.

papermariocolorsplash

With my slate clean, I jumped in to Paper Mario: Color Splash on Wii U. I spent a few hours with it over the last day or so and it’s just not very good. The paper aesthetic is beautiful and the writing was genuinely funny, but smacking things with a hammer in order to paint areas devoid of color wasn’t a fun gameplay loop.

The turn-based RPG combat system is cumbersome as hell too. Rather than issuing traditional battle commands, you collect ability cards, like jump, hammer, and fire flower, and use them one at a time against your given targets. Once you’ve chosen a target you look at your GamePad, flip through your deck, drag a card on to a designated square, click “okay,” hold your finger on the card to “paint” it, click “okay” again, then flick the card upward toward the TV to begin your attack. Then do this over and over again until everything is dead. I hated it. Frequently shifting between the TV and GamePad screens during combat was just an awful experience.

What sealed the deal and sent Color Splash packing back to my game shelf was the absence of an auto-save feature. I had the brilliant idea of jumping back to the levels I’d already finished, in order to paint all of the missing color spots, but I neglected to save before progressing the story. The next bit just happened to be an impromptu mini-game that wasn’t explained very well, and of course I ended up failing it. Our favorite plumber’s brother (because Luigi is clearly the best) died and the game reverted back to my previous manual save. I fucking lost everything. All of it.

cropped-re7wallpaper.jpg

My girlfriend and I rented Resident Evil VII, which is incredible so far. We’ve played for about 6 hours and should have it finished up by tomorrow night (the average completion is 8-10). It’s everything I’ve wanted it to be since playing the original demo and I couldn’t be happier with the end result. It may end up dethroning Resident Evil 4 as my series favorite. It’s that good.

Since I’m only playing Resident Evil VII with my girlfriend and she actually has a life outside of the hobby, I needed something else to play while she’s busy. I couldn’t choose between “something Zelda” or another RPG, so I decided to start juggling Megadimension Neptunia VII on PS4 and The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D on 3DS.

nepnep

I can’t really speak about Ocarina of Time 3D since I just decided to play it, but Neptunia VII (pronounced V-2) is just as absurd as any of their other games. If you’re unfamiliar, it’s a tongue-in-cheek JRPG series that pokes fun at the game industry (the in-game world is literally named Gameindustri, after all).

Each game console is represented by a humanized female character, and Megadimension Neptunia VII starts off with sisters Neptune and Nepgear stumbling upon an old broken Dreamcast. Their attempt at repairing the console ends in chaos, opening a rift and teleporting the pair to a post-apocalyptic world overrun by monsters and vibrant neon colors. It’s here they meet up with Uzume, known as Orange Heart, the humanization of the Dreamcast era. She sports a VMU watch and an orange Dreamcast logo tie, which I thought was a classy touch, and randomly shifts personalities between a tough, street smart brawler, and a 90’s valley girl who speaks in the third-person. Uzume also has a Caution: Seaman sidekick with a wonderful voice, so this is clearly Game of the Year material if you’re a Dreamcast fan.

The series does tend to be overly verbose and chock full of fanservice, and the trademark humor isn’t always funny, but I do enjoy me some Nep Nep. I understand that it’s not for everyone. This has been on my backlog for more than a year though, and I think it’s finally time to give Neptune some much deserved attention.

yscelceta

On the purchase front, I caved at Wal-Mart last night and picked up the modern color variant 8-bit Mario amiibo while it was on clearance for $5.00. I also grabbed Ys: Memories of Celceta digitally on Vita, since it’s 40% off this week on PSN.

I also received a $50 Best Buy gift card as a belated Christmas gift and I was hoping to secure a pre-order for a Nintendo Switch Pro Controller, but Best Buy doesn’t even have the damn thing on their website yet! I know they sold out immediately everywhere else, so of course they’re up on eBay for three times their original value. Resellers can go fuck the devil in hell.

That’ll about do it for me. What about you folks? What are you getting in to this weekend?

31 thoughts on “It’s the Freakin’ Weekend! So What are You Playing?

  1. great write up!

    it’s a shame with paper mario, that games looks gorgeous, if only the gameplay matched up, i bet just looking at that game with even a decent gameplay idea would’ve have been a trip

    your write ups of tokyo mirrage sessions really have me intrigued about this game, and thanks for bringing a game like Neptunia VII to my eyes, the fact that it’s about reviving the Dreamcast is gold! Reviews seem to think favourably of it to.

    Once if bring down my backlog of unfinished games, I may get this on Steam some day. I miss the Dreamcast dearly :(

    As for me, I’m juggling between 4 games at the moment. 2 big games I want to complete just because I’ve had them forever are Witcher 3 and Xenoblade Chronicles X. These for me are my 2 prioritized games to complete, want to get these huge open world games out of the way before I get into Zelda Breath of the Wild. I am also sneaking in some sessions of Fire Emblem Fates Awakening as well, RIP to the past few characters that died, I lost Kellam the other day. But the play through with permadeath is interesting. I scream “NOOOO” as he falls, I then take Frederick, and one shot his killer. It’s fun to get revenge in this game.

    Lastly, I just picked up BOXBOY! of the eshop and when i’m just wanting to play something chill and relax, I’m plowing through a few levels of that, loving it so far and the games starting to make me think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!

      I hear good stuff about BOXBOY!, but I’ve never looked in to it. Is it a platformer?

      I’d really like to start Witcher 3 over again at some point just to check out the DLC. I spent 150 hours with the core game at launch, but it’s been so long and I feel I’d need a refresher. Xenoblade has been on my backlog for more than a year, but knowing how big it is keeps me from playing it… which is kind of dumb. I’m sure I’ll love it, but it’d take me 2 months to finish.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oof! That’s too bad about Paper Mario: Color Splash. :/
    It does look very well done art-wise, so it’s too bad the actual gameplay doesn’t live up to that.
    Hopefully you have better gaming experiences this weekend! :D

    Like

    1. Yeah, it just wasn’t for me… even as a Mario and an RPG fan. I hated having to constantly look up and down from the GamePad to the TV and entering 3 or 4 different commands just to issue a basic attack. Good riddance!

      And thank you =).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The more I experience Resident Evil 7 the worst it gets for me. It’s a horrible game in my opinion. It’s a far cry from what Resident Evil is and I don’t consider it a return to form at all. That being said my Dragon Quest 8 for 3DS is arriving in the mail today so I’m excited about that at least. I’ll most likely be playing that this weekend.

    I’m also in the For Honor closed beta and it’s much better then I thought it would be.

    Like

        1. It’s like Christmas in January.

          I have a Best Buy card waiting to be used and I’m not having lucking using it on what I WANTED to save it for, so I may just buy DQ8 and either Yakuza 0 or Tales of Berseria. Still not sure.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Tales of Berseria looks amazing. It’s on Steam for $50, but I just brought DQ8 so it’s going to have to wait a while :).

            Yakuza 0 also looks interesting, but I don’t have a PS4 :(.

            So far 2017 is pretty great and the year just started.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice write up! It’s awesome you have so much time to play games, and that your girl is into Resident Evil! Lol I think my fiancee would run screaming out of the room… Not into horror!

    I got all giddy at your mention of Ys: Memories of Celceta. As a big Vita guy for the past few months, I have been blown away at the great game selection, but Ys: MoC was absolutely a blast. Tried to get most of the trophies and ended at around 30 hours or so, but boy was that game fun. Never played a Ys game before it either! Very pleasant surprise.

    Your review of Color Splash was interesting, I’ve never actually played a Paper Mario game, nor do I even have a WiiU, but it’s a bummer to hear about a crappy battle system in an RPG. I mean, you spend a pretty big chunk of time _in_ the battle system, so if it’s tedious, well that’s no good. You’ve convinced me to avoid it for the 3DS!

    Like

    1. Yeah, I’m pretty lucky in that regard. She loves horror.

      I’ve never played a Ys game in my life, but I’m always hearing about them. Since this one didn’t have a number associated with it I figured it’d be a good jumping on point. Turns out it’s the 4th game in the series (oops!) but it’s still a good entry point. Looking forward to playing it here soon.

      The Paper Mario games are all usually different. The first ones were turn-based RPGs, some are platformers, etc., so I wouldn’t let my negative impression of Color Splash dissuade you from checking out other games in the series. The Thousand-Year Door was incredible!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Not a bad run! I’m working most of my Saturday, may or may not get some game time after that depending on how I feel. Not really sure what I’ll fire up on Sunday, but I’m sure I’ll get in some time with something. Maybe I’ll finally defeat the final boss in Ys VI:Ark of Napishtim. I really enjoyed the story, and game overall, but stopped playing it to play other games. Seeing how I’m at the very (difficult) end I’ll give that a shot. On the other hand, I also have more sorting, and organizing to do, so it will come down to time.

    Like

    1. I need to organize my Wii, PS2, PS3, and 360 games, since I just popped them on a shelf when I remodeled the office in to a game room. No fun. Everything could probably use a good dusting as well.

      If you decide on Ys, have fun!

      Like

  6. I’ve heard some harsh critiques of Color Splash, so I’m sadly unsurprised it has a lot of issues. That sucks. I really like the PM series though I was annoyed Super PM moved away from turn based. The story was REALLY good though. I wound up watching a Let’s Play, and it’s one of the few video games that has made me cry. I think I can count on less than one hand when that’s happened. In fact, I think there are only three. I hope the PM series can get back on track with the next installment…if there is one.

    Is RE VII a collaborative game? Or since you started playing with your GF you don’t want to be rude and continue with out her?

    I’m currently leveling up all of my Mirages before I update my Mirage spreadsheet on Excel. My goal is to get them all to level 30 and have the original transfiguration board for each completely filled out. For some this takes more than level 30. I think I have Titan on level 43 and he STILL has some abilities left. Shiva and Ifrit also take a while. I just finished up Ramuh and he’s over level 50. I’ve just been fighting the Princess Goblin over and over again since she’s right outside of Cornelia, and you can just challenge her as often as you want. 45k experience isn’t too terrible. Undead Princess gives you the same, but she’s got the Death ability that can take out a stack in one shot. I *may* venture back to the Big Bridge and see how much experience those Mythril Giants give, but I like that with the princesses you can easily go back and forth to a save or gate to swap out your Mirages when need be.

    Nep Nep (love that nickname) sounds great. I love tongue-in-cheek humor and meta stories. It’s fun when a game can make fun of itself :p

    Like

    1. Since the GF and I are playing RE7 together, I don’t want to be rude, yeah. She gets severely motion sick while playing first-person games, so we play in one-hour increments or take breaks when we find a new save room.

      The grind is definitely real with you, haha. I stuck to my guns and leveled everyone out to 99 in Tokyo Mirage before finishing the game, just to spend more time with it. There’s a NG+ option, but I’m not one to revisit a 60+ hour RPG immediately after finishing it.

      Nep Nep is a weird series that’s easy to see why so many people dislike it. I’m just not one of them!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I remember the first time I ever got motion sick from a video game was Banjo Kazooie. It was so weird, because it had never happened to me before. It’s one of the reasons I never got as into the N64 as other systems :\ Thankfully, I can watch games, but playing them gives me migraines.

        I’m pretty much in the last area in WOFF, but I found a level up tip that’s so obvious, I’m mad I didn’t think of it myself. You just hang around the save point and heal yourself after every battle. This doesn’t give anything away, but the last area had to have been inspired by MC Escher.

        Like

  7. I saw you added another Amiibo to your collection… I’m planning an intervention for you, don’t worry.

    Resident Evil VII looks fantastically freaky! I’ll likely pick it up when it eventually goes on sale. If I buy it now it’ll just end up sitting on my shelf until the end of time anyway. I might as well buy it for cheap later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

