The dastardly weekdays have been captured, burned alive, and hidden deep within the cold womb of the ocean. And like a phoenix rising from the ashes, our temporary hero adorned in masterfully crafted mithril armor, The Weekend.

How will you be spending it?

daijaws

I had a pretty relaxing week and somehow managed to stuff 72 hours in to Dragon Age: Inquisition. The main story quest is finished, though I left a few of the optional bits (like closing fade rifts and shard collecting) alone toward the end. I was more eager to jump in to the DLC instead of grinding for trophies, and knew the Inquisition was more than prepared to confront Corypheus and his archdemon.

I’ve been posting screenshots of my adventure on PS4, and man, this game still looks incredible two years later. The locales are superb, particularly the stunning water effects found along the edges of the Storm Coasts and the lush vegetation and elven architecture of the Emerald Graves. I had already thoroughly explored the game at launch, but it was like falling in love all over again. I love the cast, their banter, and the abundance of lore materials scattered about the world. It’s just an amazing game. Definitely one of my favorites.

Also, for those of you keeping score, that’s 2 games down for Four in February. Two RPGs, might I add! Having bouts of insomnia has its benefits, I suppose.

After finishing Inquisition’s story, I dove in to Jaws of Hakkon at the recommendation of fellow Dragon Age aficionado Yheela. This DLC takes the Inquisition to Frostback Basin in search of information on the previous Inquisitor, which is a super interesting concept. I’ve only managed to play around for an hour or so, but Frostback Basin is insanely gorgeous and the fade rift demons are proving to be considerably more challenging than the ones from the core game. This is good.

After Jaws of Hakkon it’s down in to the Deep Roads in Descent, and then, finally, Trespasser (which actually continues the core game’s cliffhanger finale, I hear). I’ve purposefully avoided reading in to any of the DLC packs, so I’m not quite sure what to expect.

dd4screenshot3

Outside of Dragon Age: Inquisition, I played a fair bit of Double Dragon IV for a review that I’ll be working on here shortly. The nutshell version thus far is that I wish they’d gone with the far superior arcade sprites and gameplay instead of the NES. It looks and feels like Double Dragon II, which isn’t always a good thing. It’s only $7, so I didn’t expect much. I just wish it didn’t feel so shallow, I guess?

Ever since its announcement, I’ve been thinking more and more about the upcoming Elder Scrolls Online expansion for Morrowind. I’ve said it before; I love Morrowind. I also dislike Elder Scrolls Online… but I’m willing to give it another go.

Since I no longer pay for Xbox Live Gold (where I already own the basic core edition of ESO) and my PlayStation Plus subscription is still good for another year, I went ahead and picked up The Elder Scrolls Online: Gold Edition on PS4 (which comes with all 4 of the available expansions) for $40. I wanted to get a nice feel for the game before Morrowind releases in June, so I sprang for the Gold Edition just in case I end up enjoying it this time around. I know they’ve made some drastic changes since I last played during its console launch, so anything can happen.

I mostly plan on playing solo, and after scouring the internet for leveling builds I came across this informative beginners guide by Deltia’s Gaming. Some internet friends agree that Magplar (which I’ve just found out means Magicka Templar) is the way to go, since it has ridiculous self-heal potential and can pump out some pretty good damage. I’ll be sure to document my adventure a little more next weekend once I’ve had time to create a character and get my feet wet.

Lately I’ve been wanting to revisit an MMO, since bottomless games tend to be my comfort food, but I just don’t want to pay a subscription fee. Otherwise I’d have resubbed to Final Fantasy XIV and worked on the Dragoon I abandoned at the start of Heavensward, or gotten my Alliance Warlock green fire in World of Warcraft.

I even downloaded Neverwinter on PS4 (which I enjoyed on Xbox One) for a rainy day, though it’s unfortunate that my Arc account doesn’t transition from the Xbox. It’s a free-to-play game, so of course it doesn’t.

neverwinter

I had already paid for character slots and heirloom leveling bags over on the Xbox, which made life a hell of a lot easier. I also have a max level Scourge Warlock and Control Wizard, and a fairly high level Great Weapon Fighter over there that’d be nice to continue playing.

Still, Neverwinter is a solid free-to-play option on consoles and I sank an absurd amount of time in to the Xbox version over the last few years. The developers do a great job at making things inconvenient so you’ll want to spend actual money on it, but even without doing so there’s a ton of free content to experience. The latest expansion Storm King’s Thunder: Sea of Moving Ice just hit consoles less than a month ago (fishing!), so I’m pretty stoked to check it out at some point. I do like that every expansion is released free of charge, which definitely makes the inconvenience sting a bit less.

I’m not sure how much I’ll actually play Neverwinter now that I’ve committed to Elder Scrolls Online, but it’s a small enough (and free) download to have sitting on the back burner for… whenever. I never got around to checking out the new-ish Oathbound Paladin class, so that’s a good incentive. I’ll probably wait until they run a double XP weekend event, which isn’t uncommon.

drunkhistory

Outside of gaming, I finally started watching Drunk History on Hulu. If you’re not familiar with it, it’s basically a show where comedians get drunk and recount historical events to the best of their inebriated ability. While said comedian slurs their way through something like the Lincoln assassination, another group of comedians reenact a dramatization, which makes for great television. I don’t think I’ve laughed this much at a TV show since discovering The League in 2011.

So aside from a trip to the zoo on Sunday, my weekend plans are mostly focused on completing all three DLC packs in Dragon Age: Inquistion so I can jump in to Elder Scrolls Online.

What about you folks? What’s on your weekend agenda? Anyone else out there playing ESO on PS4 and want to give me some starter tips?

33 thoughts on “It’s the Freakin’ Weekend! So What are You Playing?

  1. I need to get back into Dragon Age Inquisition. I’ve also never played through the DLC, but I’ve gone through the core game multiple times when I owned a Xbox One. I have the game on Origin and it’s already installed on my PC so I might end up going back to it one day :).

    I was like you with ESO. I avoided it like the plague when it first released. I went back after the One Tamriel update and I’ve been hooked ever since. I love that I can go out of my way and explore without being punished because the world scales with my character now. I mostly play with my wife and we have a lot of fun travelling, and completing quests together.

    My first character is a dragon knight. He can easily tank a entire group of enemies and even aggro world bosses without much trouble. He has great self heal abilities and some pretty OP fire moves too. I’m almost at the level cap so I’m excited :). I’m using a big ass greatsword with a full set of dwarven armor. Once I reach level 50 I’m upgrading to Ebony :).

    Like

    • So far Jaws of Hakkon is just more Dragon Age, but that’s in no way a bad thing. Not a lot of party banter going on out in the open world, which is disappointing, but the Frostback Basin is fucking GORGEOUS to look at. Let me know if you get back in to the game and check out the DLC. Curious about what you think.

      ESO at launch was a fucking disaster. I’m sitting at the character creation screen right now, and I’m going in with an open mind. Hopefully I dig it a bit more this time.

      Liked by 1 person

      • What I did was play it the way I would play any other Elder Scrolls game. I ignored my quest and went of exploring and came back with some sweet loot. I recommend leaving the noob zone as soon as possible because the game is much more fun when you’re out exploring instead of playing it like every other MMO out there.

        I’ll definitely let you know what I think of DAI when I get back into it :). I still need to get through Far Harbor…

        So many games to play and so little time lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re playing two games with Dragon in the title. Truly a Double Dragon! (ha ha ha) Looking forward to your Double Dragon IV review. Seems interesting! I’m working on a Dragon game of my own, Dragon Quest VIII for 3DS. I’ve been playing it for a while now, so hopefully I’ll be done soon!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I definitely burned myself out from playing another MMO ever again after FFXIV! Not sure how many hours I logged in the mere 9 months that I played (starting from the launch), but it had to be in vicinity of 2000+ hours. Never before had I done that and I don’t think I’ll ever do it again!

    That being said, ESO was a good time for the limited beta that I played in it, but coming off FFXIV I had no desire to get into another bottomless pit. It’s very intriguing about Morrowind though – I’ve always wanted to see that world through the lenses of modern graphics technology.

    Like

    • “It’s very intriguing about Morrowind though – I’ve always wanted to see that world through the lenses of modern graphics technology.” — This is EXACTLY why I wanted to get back in to ESO. I can’t wait to see what it looks like by today’s standards.

      I’ve been playing WoW since vanilla, so nearly 13 years. I’d hate to count the hours I’ve invested there lol. It’s an absurd amount. I totally understand where you’re coming from lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s crazy how you can get into a game for that long, but on the other hand it’s a big compliment to Blizzard’s work that so many fans have been playing for over a decade. And that game has aged very well. Heck, I remember seeing a few years back that someone did a graphical comparison of the game from 2004 vs. modern and the graphics had been gradually updated.

        Incredible the amount of work that goes into keeping a game like WoW fresh after all these years!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I need to go through DA:I again someday, but things… Things get in the way!

    I’m actually going to probably try to get a little further in Alien: Isolation (I had a blast with it today), and I just received a copy of Rainbow Six Siege again ($15.00 is hard to beat). I’m definitely going to put some time into The Long Dark if I can though, so I plan on keeping busy.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I “finished” WOFF on Wednesday, but that is dubious at best. Even the trophy says “The End?” I picked up a bunch of Mirages you can’t get until the “end,” and I discovered you can have too many Mirages. You can only hold 180, which I’m assuming is all of the transfigurations of all of them. You know how the game usually tells you where to go? After you beat it the first time, not anymore! I think I know where I have to go next, and I actually kind of like having the mystery.

    I don’t know if I can count this as a finish. If I get through three more and I don’t have a fourth, maybe I’ll count it :p

    Like

  6. If I have time on Sunday, I’ll revisit Rainbow Six Siege for the first time in awhile. It’s one of the few games my brother plays at all due to a busy work schedule, and Terrorist Hunt mode is a lot of fun. They recently added a ton of new content, and of course DLC operator characters I likely won’t buy. But the core game is fun, and nearly all of the problems have been ironed out.

    Other than that, I have the rare weekend off, so I will be attending a retro game swap meet Saturday night. I’m brining about 4 boxes of doubles, and games I own for platforms I don’t presently have. Including some really good ones. I’m hoping someone shows up with some C64 stuff, 2600 stuff to go with all of the NES, Genesis, SNES, and Turbographx 16 stuff there will likely be. Even if that doesn’t happen, I hope to find an NES copy of Stinger, and Magmax., and if it isn’t *too* expensive, a loose copy of Truxton for the Genesis. It’s only exponentially increased in price every year, and hardly shows up. When they do they’re not cheap. Of course neither is Katakis for the Commodore 64, but I’d probably fall behind on the bills for that one.

    Like

  7. Congrats on conquering game #2 this month! :) My plan is to focus down FFIV, my game #2, this weekend so you don’t get too far ahead of me, haha. I’m near the end of the Giant of Babil area and I think the PSP version’s last boss is more forgiving than the original, I hope anyway.

    Like

    • I think the PSP version is supposed to be on par with the original Japanese version’s difficulty, which is higher… but it’s been so long since I’ve played it I couldn’t tell you lol.

      Good luck on game #2! I don’t have a game #3 lined up since I started playing Elder Scrolls Online and Neverwinter, which don’t technically end. Oops? Lol.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I picked that up and launch and was super bummed out that achievements and trophies were locked if you use any of the mods… which was the entire purpose of playing it for me. Ah well, I’ll get back to it one day. Love Skyrim though! I have 2 200-hour playthroughs across the PS3 and 360.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

