The Binding of Isaac: Afterbirth+ Has Some Neat Extras and Nods to Zelda

Twin-stick roguelike The Binding of Isaac: Afterbirth+ is one of the few physically released Nintendo Switch titles currently available at retail, and it’s the one I recommend picking up alongside The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

Not only is the game incredibly dark and an absolute blast to play, but the physical release includes some neat goodies packed inside of the case. For starters, there’s a bunch of Isaac-related stickers. You get two sheets of them, featuring various power-ups and in-game items, plus an adorable crying Isaac face.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What’s really amazing, though, is the full-color instruction booklet that contains quite a few nods to the original Legend of Zelda on NES.

Outside of the obvious cover homage (complete with a Nintendo Seal of Quality on the inside, using publisher Nicalis’ logo instead), Twitter user @CheckpointChris pointed out a few similarities within the manual itself.

As you can see, the layout is identical and even uses the same awkwardly worded text in the boomerang description. That’s love right there.

For the unfamiliar, The Binding of Isaac is a lot like running a fully randomized Zelda dungeon, but with a lot of poop, gross power-ups, disturbing imagery, and tons of crying. There’s over 600 items, 180 different enemy types, 90 different bosses, 20 endings, and 13 playable characters. Every run at the game is completely different, from boss order to power-ups, which not only makes it highly replayable but the best short-burst to-go game in the Switch’s arsenal.

The Binding of Isaac: Afterbirth+ contains the core Rebirth game, along with both Afterbirth and Afterbirth+ expansions built-in, for $39.99. The bonus goodies are limited to just the first few thousand copies, so if you’re interested you may want to go ahead and pull the trigger. Eligible copies have a crying Isaac label on the front, while future prints clearly won’t.

Have you picked up The Binding of Isaac: Afterbirth+ yet?

11 thoughts on “The Binding of Isaac: Afterbirth+ Has Some Neat Extras and Nods to Zelda

      1. I know what you mean. I considered getting Bomberman, but that’s way too expensive to buy right now. I might just go ahead and get Snipperclips or just wait for Mario Kart 8 to release.

        In order for you to add me you’ll need my friend code right?

        Like

      2. Snipperclips is a fun co-op game that’s relatively short, but it’s definitely worth playing. $20 is reasonable.

        I really want to play Bomberman but $50 is too steep for me. I would like to pick up Blaster Master Zero ($10) and Fast RMX ($20) at some point from the eShop.

        And yeah, one of us needs the other’s friend code. Mine is 1725-5713-4021 (Bradmobile).

        Liked by 1 person

    1. The first time I played it was when Rebirth launched on PS4. I wasn’t in to it at first. The dark themes were appealing, but I’m not a huge fan of randomized layouts and permadeath. It grew on me over time, though, and now I really enjoy it. I’ve only made it to Mom once, and actually defeated her, but I got hit by a poop fly during her death animation and died. I was sooooo pissed lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I would’ve raged all across the land. That is the worst. After you defeat the final boss, I really think poop fly hits should not count. I think that game was way more fun to watch. I’d be terrible at playing it. I’d be crying more than Isaac.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I have yet to play this game but I’m more and more intrigued by it. I don’t generally like roguelikes or games without a definitive ending, so that’s probably why. Does this madness ever end? Lol, very cool either way, I love getting color manuals and especially with cool nods to Zelda.

    Like

    1. Roguelikes aren’t my favorite genre, but I really enjoy them if they’re done right (Risk of Rain, Crypt of the NecroDancer, Spelunky). There are 20 endings, so there’s definitely a finite point you can reach in the game. Then you just… keep playing again and again, haha. It’s hard, so finishing it every run is almost impossible. I’ve only made it to the final boss once in my entire life. What makes it so much are the power-ups, which have silly names. There’s so many of them that you’ll never really keep track of what they do, and some are clearly more helpful than others. You can get the short end of the stick in one run, where your speed is reduced, you lose a heart container, and die on the first boss. The next run you could land a bunch of great stuff early on and feel like a god (yet still die to something stupid). It’s definitely worth the money and has an endless amount of replay value.

      Like

Leave a Reply

