After a handful of delays, Persona 5 is finally available here in North America. As a big fan of all things Shin Megami Tensei, naturally I gravitated toward the bulkier Take Your Heart Premium Edition with all of its delicious physical goodies.

Let’s take a look at what’s inside this towering block of cardboard, shall we?

Though not as mighty as The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild’s Special Edition, Persona 5’s Take Your Heart Premium Edition box is pretty damn hefty in size.

Underneath the slip-cover is a nice collector’s box featuring artwork from the game. It clasps magnetically on one side and flips open to reveal the contents. This shot is from the top of the box.

And this shot is from the bottom.

All of the contents are nice and snug inside. The Take Your Heart Premium Edition includes a gym bag, a Morgana plushie, a full-size, full-color art book, the game’s soundtrack, and a steel book cover for the game itself.

Here is everything spread out.

The Morgana plushie is adorable as hell.

I normally don’t care for steel books, as they tend to disrupt the flow of my game shelf. However, Atlus put us collectors in mind by including a plastic slip cover that adds the blue PS4 bar across the top of the spine. Yay!

I was surprised by how big the art book was when I opened the box. Most art books are usually flimsy or considerably smaller than your average magazine.

Here you can see the quality of the art inside.

Here’s the Shujin Academy gym bag…

…and a close-up of the Shujin Academy embroidery.

Overall, I’m extremely pleased with the quality of the extras here. The Morgana plushie is super cute, the gym bag feels sturdy (and I’ll likely use it to lug around my Breath of the Wild Switch case), the soundtrack has 19 tracks of Shoji Meguro and Toshiki Konishi goodness, and the artbook completely exceeded my expectations. Words can’t describe how happy I am about the steel book including the blue PS4 banner, either.

I look forward to delving into the world of Persona 5 here soon. Hopefully, I’ll have a review for you folks once I’ve finished the game in late 2019 (har har har).

Did you pick up Persona 5? If so, what do you think of it so far? Let’s keep it spoiler-free down in the comments, folks!

8 thoughts on “Let’s Take a Closer Look at the Persona 5: Take Your Heart Premium Edition on PS4

  1. Awesome dude, im so incredibly jealous! Currently on holiday and wont get to play for nearly an entire month… was thinking of replaying P4 in the meantime, as I imagine it will be harder to go back to after Persona 5. How are you liking it?

    Like

    • I’ve only played for three hours and it’s about what I expected so far. It’s pretty, stylish as hell, has great music, and interesting characters. I haven’t gotten to the point where I can start building social links and micromanaging my free time, but I like where the story is headed. If you liked P4 you’ll enjoy P5 =).

      The only thing I see becoming an issue is that it was much easier to play through P4G since it was on Vita and I could play it whenever, wherever, but with P5 being tethered to a home console I’m limited to when I can play it.

      I was hoping to have Zelda finished by now, but I’m not even close. Juggling these two is going to prove troublesome, I’m sure.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Glad to hear it, been looking forward to this forever. Have you had a chance to try and stream it to the Vita with share play? I was hoping that would sort of fill the gap. I just finished up Zelda myself and I’m certainly feeling the loss of it. I’d like to review, might even begin work on it shortly, take my mind off Persona 😅 Really enjoy your writing, look forward to the next post!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. How much did that set you back? That’s quite a haul, and I do like that they took the collector’s dilemma in mind. Since I still have Persona 4 on my backlog, and I haven’t officially entered the Persona world, I’m going to be happy for everyone who picked up their copy of the game :)

    Like

    • $89.99, which is $71.99 after the 20% GCU card discount. The way I see it, that’s $12 more than a normal retail game without a discount and you get all sorts of rad stuff.

      The games aren’t connected at all, so if P5 interests you and the price is right, by all means jump in. It’s a great game so far. So much style!

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s not bad at all considering all the stuff you got! Art books can run for like $50 by themselves (I’ve been wanting The Sky for years and it’s probably around $100 by now).

        So less connected than the Final Fantasies? They each have separate stories, but similar themes. I think have have P4 on my backlog, but I’ve been holding off on adding any more before I play that.

        Like

Leave a Reply

