It’s the Freakin’ Weekend! So What are You Playing?

Friday! Video games! Let’s talk (briefly)!

I finished off the retro-inspired RPG Cosmic Star Heroine during the week, which was excellent. I just wanted to mention it rather than go in depth, since I received it for review, but the short version is “if you liked Chrono Trigger and Phantasy Star, you should probably play it.”

AKIBA'S BEAT - Key Art

My weekend will likely be spent playing Akiba’s Beat (also for review) and Batman: The Telltale Series, which just arrived from GameFly today.

I’m still jumping into Mario Kart 8 Deluxe between projects, but it’s been busy around these parts. I’ve also taken to playing Hyperdimension Neptunia U: Action Unleashed on Vita in the car instead, since I’m trying to chip away at the backlog and there’s nothing left for me to do in Mario Kart 8 Deluxe aside from 200cc medals (and that’s a big ol’ nope!) and online races.

soma

If you’re looking for something new to play this weekend, there’s a pretty good Flash Sale going on over at the PlayStation Store.

On the PS4 side of things, I highly recommend SOMA, Alone With You, 2064: Read Only Memories, Axiom Verge, and Risk of Rain. I was considering The Little Acre, Paranautical Activity, Slain: Back From Hell, and Hyperdevotion Noire: Goddess Black Heart, but I only ended up grabbing Noire on Vita for a fiver.

Shout out to Mr. Panda for deflecting Paranautical Activity as a shoddy first-person rogue-like over in our WordPress blogger Discord server, Support Class. Saved me $2! Also, shout out to The Shameful NarcissistThe Well-Red Mage, Lightning Ellen, and Evil Wizard, Esq. (along with the aforementioned Mr. Panda) for helping get the Discord server rolling. If you’re a WordPress games/nerdy blogger and want to reach out to a group of fellow writers for inspiration, feedback, or daily chatter, feel free to join Support Class!

monstress

Outside of gaming, I got around to finishing the seventh volume of Saga, which continues to be the greatest comic series available. I also picked up Vaughan’s (Saga) first volume of Y: The Last Man, along with volume one of Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet and volume one of Monstress. I’ve rented Monstress in the past, but never finished it. Now that school is out for the summer, hopefully I can catch up on my Image backlog.

I started watching Marvel’s Iron Fist series on Netflix, which I’m enjoying to an extent. The story and characters are interesting, but boy are the fight scenes drab in comparison to Daredevil and Luke Cage. It almost feels like a CW show, rather than a Netflix series. Hopefully, the weak choreography doesn’t bleed over into The Defenders, which I’m super excited about.

Sorry to keep it short this week. The girlfriend and I are headed out here soon to catch Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 and I’m so full of Japanese food that I’m struggling to stay awake for its 7 p.m. show time.

What about you folks? What are you getting into this weekend?

22 thoughts on “It’s the Freakin’ Weekend! So What are You Playing?

  1. Gah! What is this “Cosmic Star Heroine”? Never heard of it before but Chrono Trigger was basically my perfect game. Definitely need to check that one out!!

    Like

    1. It’s $14.99 on PC and PS4, so definitely check it out. For it being such a busy season for games, I found the 12-hour run time to be absolutely perfect. Great humor, characters, and writing, and one of the best turn-based combat systems I’ve ever played.

      Like

  2. Per usual I work through Saturday. But after that I’m sure I’ll get in some more time with the Mirage beta. They just put out ANOTHER major update, So I’ll be wanting to check that out. I’ll probably get some more time in with my C64, and I’ll probably fire up some Super Street Fighter II for the Super NES. May want to shake off some ring rust for the upcoming re-release.

    Aside from gaming, I’ll be seeing The Dollyrots live for the first time since 2005. That show was a blast. So I’m sure this will be a fun time too. If you’ve never heard of them, they’re kind of like the classic oldies group, The Ronettes. Just blended with The Ramones, and a dash of The Donnas. They’re pretty great. Their first album was one of the last releases on Lookout! The same indie label that published albums by The Mr. T Experience, Screeching Weasel, Green Day, The Donnas, and other important pop punk bands of the 1990’s. So yeah, should be a good weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes! Not only did it come back working, it came back in better shape than I sent it in! Somehow they were able to get all of the grime off of the keys, and bezel. Plus they installed a power saver, (Additional mobo protection in the event of a surge.), and I ordered a homebrew PSU/AC Adapter. My original one was beginning to fail. I’ll probably review the experience soon.

        So last weekend in celebration I spent my Sunday evening playing classic Commodore 64 games, and drinking 10% Avery Maharaja Double IPA. Which you may remember seeing in the beer countdown. It’s pretty great.

        Actually both of those things are pretty great. Should you see a C64 in a yard sale, or retro game store do pick it up. It’s awesome. Just make sure it has a working PSU/AC Adapter. If it has a working 1541 Floppy drive, or a datasette drive with it, even better (Most of the better stuff was on disk or tape.). Some games came on cartridge like Radar Rat Race, which was made by HAL Laboratory. (Yes. THAT HAL Laboratory.)

        And do see The Dollyrots should they come to your area. I mean look at this album art. Do you really want to make this artwork sad? https://fanart.tv/fanart/music/f121deb7-0668-4ace-b36e-4b3a9e804b4f/albumcover/eat-my-heart-out-518a9a23424ea.jpg

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Trying to knock Xenoblade Chronicles X out of the park, but the end is such a friend fest, when I finally move on to the next phase of the boss, I then get destroyed

    I agree about Daredevil not many things can compare to it’s fighting, so damn good to watch one of my favs for that

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m getting plenty of bed rest this weekend. Been sleeping a lot and when I’m not sleeping I’m on Mass Effect or Stella Glow. Iron Fist… is my least favorite Marvel show out of the four that I’ve seen. I’m hoping The Defenders is more like Daredevil instead of Iron Fist. You’re spot on about the CW show thing. Some times I thought I was watching a Arrow fight scene instead of a Iron Fist one.

    Like

    1. IF is definitely my least favorite so far. I’ve been helping my mom clean out dad’s shop for the last few days and I’m mentally exhausted, so I feel you on the bed rest thing lol. I’m falling asleep out of pure exhaustion.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s all about Alienation on PS4 for me at the moment. Heads up, I did a review for Slain when it was PC only – not impressed at all, it needed quite a bit of work back then just to make it playable. If you end up picking it up i’d be interested to hear what it’s like now.

    Like

    1. I’m surprised I never picked up Alienation since I’ve loved all of the other Housemarque titles.

      It seems the PS4 version is the updated PC version that the developers released after all of the negative criticism. Despite that, the updated release seems to have gotten largely negative reviews… so I guess I’ll be skipping this one. Soul-crushing games aren’t my thing anymore, so no big loss.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Just bought Alone With You. It was $3.99 with the Flash Sale; can’t beat that! I don’t know what’s going on that you can’t buy things through PSN on the computer, but it’s weird when it gets to checkout. Ah well, I just turned the PS4 on.

    I’m going to start Saga this week, and Monstress is probably going to be my next graphic novel purchase. Saga looks amazing, and I’ve heard nothing but good things.

    I finished up The Room, but there’s an epilogue I’m trying to do. I love how it’s a puzzle game with a bit of a dark atmosphere. The letters you find scattered around are ultra creepy. Brave Exvius is still interesting. They’re doing this thing where you get a ticket summon every day you log in, so I’m trying to remember to do that.

    Hope you enjoyed GOTG 2! I still need to see that. I’m slacking lol.

    Like

    1. I couldn’t buy a Vita game through the Flash Sale on PC either, so I have no idea what the deal is. I usually ALWAYS buy over the PC and remotely download to my PS4/Vita, so maybe it was just an issue with the Flash Sale? Alone With You is a good one, though. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Such a somber world and neat story that unfolds.

      Saga is easily the best comic series available right now and I have all the faith in the world that you’re going to love it.

      I wish The Room made its way to Vita or something. I’ve heard so much great stuff about it.

      GOTG2 was soooo gooooood.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s really weird, and it’s not the first time it’s happened to me at least. I have issues with it excepting me switching the payment method. I love dark and somber, so I think I’ll be good!

        I just started Saga tonight, and holy shit is it fantastic. I’m probably going to buy the next one as soon as I’m done with this volume.

        I know it’s on Android, and I believe it’s on iOS, too! I grabbed it for my Kindle (Android) because I don’t have a lot of room left on my phone. The first one is free, but they get your money with the second and third. If you like puzzle games, it’s right up your alley.

        Like

  7. I snagged Axiom Verge on the Flash sale. It is indeed pretty sweet. I’m not sure what Discord is, but I’d love to have a place to chat with other bloggers about… well… blogging stuff. So I may look into that.

    Like

    1. Axiom Verge is incredible. I gave it my #2 favorite game the year it released, just under Undertale.

      Discord is an app for PC/mobile that lets you create your own chat servers that other Discord users can join. It acts as both a chat room and (if people want to use the feature) a voice chat service for anyone in the room. It’s mainly for multi-player gaming, but lots of folks use it for simple chatting. If you download discord and click the link in the article, it’ll invite you to the server! Actually, just clicking the link will take you to Discord’s website where you can download the app and everything.

      Like

  8. I really enjoyed Batman. Hopefully the Guardians Telltale adventure is equally good. Shame that Iron FIst’s action is drab. You would think that a martial arts based hero would excel at fights.

    Like

    1. I thought Batman was good and I liked the roles they gave each character, but I thought the detective stuff was ultimately boring and my game crashing during the final scene put a sour taste in my mouth. Still, I enjoyed it and can’t wait to check out Guardians once all of the episodes are out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

