I’m Addicted to Horizon: Zero Dawn’s Photo Mode

All games should have a photo mode, this much we know. But after taking a two-month break from open-world games, I’m finally back in the driver’s seat with the insanely gorgeous PlayStation 4 exclusive, Horizon: Zero Dawn. And man, let me tell you, my Share button is getting quite the workout.

I made it roughly 8 hours into Horizon before contracting open-world fatigue, and since that time developer Guerrilla Games has implemented quite a few neat little additions to the game’s Photo Mode — namely poses and facial expressions for its fiery-haired leading lady, Aloy.

I’ve been on a screenshot kick all day (seriously, I played the game for eight straight hours and littered my Twitter feed with them) and thought I’d transfer some of them off the PS4 via USB and share them here with you folks. Hopefully you’re into that sort of thing because Horizon: Zero Dawn is fucking jaw-dropping.

Before we get into the screenshots, can we all agree that even Horizon’s quest NPCs look amazing? I took all three of these in-game with a standard PS4.

Horizon Zero Dawn™_20170605010017

Horizon Zero Dawn™_20170605010408

Horizon Zero Dawn™_20170605010815

Once I discovered that I could pause the game during conversations and enter Photo Mode to remove the UI, I started appreciating and taking notice of Horizon’s utterly fantastic NPC design a whole lot more.

Here’s the batch of Aloy screenshots I took throughout today’s adventure. I’m very big into framing the environment around Aloy and getting as much of the game’s rad architecture in the shot as possible.

Enjoy!

There still appears to be a bit of image compression which jeopardizes the overall quality, but if I figure out how to get around that I’ll update the files later. It could be WordPress, for all I know.

I’m thoroughly enjoying Horizon: Zero Dawn now that I’ve had time to distance myself from the open world of Breath of the Wild, and I’m certainly glad I gave the game another chance. It’s shaping up to be an incredible experience.

22 thoughts on “I’m Addicted to Horizon: Zero Dawn’s Photo Mode

  1. Glad to hear you’ve gotten back into this after BOTW. This game looks utterly gorgeous, it’s amazing how well it’s optimized to run on PS4

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing photos! You have great skills with in-game photography. This game is so beautiful! I’m glad the developers added this feature. I actually haven’t used it yet, now that I think about it… I know what I’ll be doing tonight! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I like that you can just pause the game whenever you want and adjust Aloy’s pose afterwards. It adds a neat little adventure feel, like with FFXV, where it’s like keeping a scrapbook or something.

      I’m about to finally watch Logan and then jump back into Horizon for the night. Can’t wait to see what other locals I stumble on.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. You remind me of myself with The Witcher 3 when it first released. I took hundreds of screenshots and I still haven’t seen better beards in games. Horizon sure is pretty. Might play it one day when I get my pro.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. FFXV didn’t have a traditional photo mode, but Prompto would upload a batch of pics he’d take randomly. It was random poses, etc., so it was out of my control — but I was definitely obsessed with posting the pics he took since he was so good at it lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

