It’s the Freakin’ Weekend! So What are You Playing?

Friday! Video games! Let’s talk!

I just got in from a much needed two-week vacation across Maryland, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania, where I’m confident I walked more in fourteen days than I have in 35 years. I’ll be dumping a plethora of pics over on Facebook if anyone is remotely interested.

Our vacation started off in Maryland where we stayed a few nights with my grandmother and uncle in Silver Spring. He was involved in a pretty gnarly car accident last November and she’s been taking care of him, but she’s 82 and can’t always take him to his appointments.

We helped out as best as we could, but took a day for ourselves and met up with one of my best friends in Baltimore to walk around Oriole Park, the inner harbor, and visit the modern art museum. The weather was shit, though, and we ended up drenched on our way back to the Light Rail.

We then spent a week in Belmar, NJ with some of my family, walking the grounds of the nearby Asbury Park, Ocean Grove (where we found a local book sale and stocked up on plenty of cheap R.A. Salvatore novels), and Point Pleasant. We made notes to visit Asbury again in the future since they’re opening up a cat cafe and a paranormal museum.

In Philly, we met up with my cousin for a tour of the city, ate delicious Indian food, and visited three different museums — the Mutter, which displays preserved human remains for scientific study; the Philadelphia Museum of Art, also known as “the Rocky steps museum” where everyone still flocks to blast the movie’s theme song from their phones while running up the steps; and the Magic Garden, which is essentially a building transformed into one giant mosaic piece.

My girlfriend and I visited New York twice, with the first being on the 4th of July for a Yankees game. My uncle works closely with them and managed to score us legacy suite tickets for their match-up against the Blue Jays. Growing up an Orioles fan I’ve never liked the Yankees, but their stadium is gorgeous and we all had a lot of fun. I ate my weight in lobster rolls and watched Aaron Judge knock a ball out of the park in their 4-1 loss to Toronto, so it was a good time all around.

We had plans to attend a Broadway show back in NYC on Sunday the 9th at 7:30 pm, but arrived in New York around 11 am to explore a bit first. It was sweltering outside, my feet were throbbing, but we walked around Central Park (stopping by John Lennon’s Strawberry Fields landmark) and Times Square, visiting the Nintendo store (I picked up a Splatoon shirt since they didn’t have any Metroid merch), and devouring the best bagels (Ess-a-Bagel) and gyros (Gyro II) I’ve tasted in my life.

Come From Away ended up being an incredible Broadway show about a small Canadian town that took care of thousands of passengers whose planes were redirected during the 9/11 attacks. It’s based on the book The Day the World Came to Town: 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland by Jim DeFede, which is now at the top of my to-read list. I’d never heard of it until that day, but we were all blown away during the standing ovation.

I spent the better part of yesterday in Virginia’s atrocious traffic driving along I-95 and 495, coupled with a few ruthless North Carolina storms, and today is my self-allotted single day of vacation from my vacation. Driving for 10 hours straight certainly sucks and it definitely feels good to be back home.

I don’t really feel up to gaming right now, though, but last night before bed I rolled the credits on FightinCowboy’s Dark Souls II: Scholar of the First Sin LP I’ve been watching for the last month or so. I suppose this weekend isn’t about what to play next, but what to watch.

Once I get back into the swing of things, I’ll probably finish up the last three games in the Blackwell series and start Planescape: Torment, but who knows? My girlfriend subscribes to Humble Monthly, so Pillars of Eternity is always an option now. I’d also really like to pick up the Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age remaster on PS4, but I’ll just wait for a price drop since I have enough on my plate.

What about you, folks? Have any big gaming plans this weekend?

32 thoughts on “It’s the Freakin’ Weekend! So What are You Playing?

  1. That’s a nice featured picture there. Some nice photography skills!

    The wife is away this weekend so I’m on child duty, but I’m hoping to squeeze in a bit more FFXV, maybe watch some more GLOW, and I’m interested in finding the Slenderman documentary to watch.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I started Glow before heading out for vacation, so thanks for the reminder that I didn’t finish it! I’ve been debating jumping back into FFXV to play through all of the DLC stuff, but haven’t been in the mood lately.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you enjoyed the trip up the coast – pretty funny to think we could have crossed paths in multiple states! :)

    This weekend I’ll be focusing a little more on Ever Oasis (although it’s more an on-the-go game), and Cave Story+ on the Switch. It feels so nice to game on the Switch, as the 3DS graphics just show their age so much and can be a strain on the eyes longer term.

    Also, my PSP will hopefully arrive tomorrow, and I can’t wait to start FFVII: Crisis Core :O

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I liked Crisis Core quite a bit and there are TONS of great PSP games out there, so enjoy! I hear you on the 3DS front. It definitely shows its age, even next to my Vita (let alone the Switch).

      Like

  3. Welcome back! Sounds like you had some good times over the last two weeks. Sorry I couldn’t cover the post last week, some last minute stuff came up and spoiled a bunch of stuff.

    Since I finally have the weekend to myself, mostly, I plan to play some more Rise of the Tomb Raider. I played through it on Xbox One but I bought it for PS4 and am enjoying the second play through just as much as the first. I may try to finish TellTales’ Game of Thrones but I’m struggling with that game a bit since it doesn’t work so well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I definitely had a great time, but I’m completely drained, haha. All good on the post front! I didn’t expect anyone to do it once, let alone twice.

      I really enjoyed Rise of the Tomb Raider, particularly the gameplay and world design — I just wish the storytelling in both modern TR games was better. It’s the most glaring difference between that series and Uncharted.

      I typically like TT games, but Game of Thrones was the worst I’ve played since Back to the Future. It doesn’t help that I have no attachment to the books or TV show.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I like the Tomb Raider reboots for the story and the gameplay. I will admit they miss the marks at key points, still good though It makes me laugh though that Uncharted somehow ripped off Tomb Raider then Tomb Raider ripped off Uncharted.

        TellTale Games are a mystery to me. I didn’t like The Walking Dead but loved Tales from the Borderlands. Game of Thrones feels more like The Walking Dead than Borderlands which isn’t a good thing. Maybe I finish it, maybe I don’t.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. If you enjoyed Borderlands, I *highly* recommend the first season of Minecraft: Story Mode even if you’re not a fan of the source material. Easily the 2nd best thing they’ve done and ranks just under Borderlands. Patton Oswalt fucking rules as the male hero.

        Like

  4. Sounds like you had a great time! The Yankees lost to our Blue Jays though?? They really are terrible, hahahaha :)

    I’m on a 4 day vacation and started Dragon Ages Origins (finally!). I’m one of the weird people who like DA II so it’s nice to finally play the good one. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I don’t think DA2 was necessarily bad, just in comparison to the original and its expansion. Origins is fantastic, though, so enjoy!

      The Yanks are in 2nd right now, I think, but like the rest of the AL East they’ve had a rollercoaster of a season. I’m hoping the Orioles dig their way out of 4th at some point.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like a great get away. In my neck of the woods you’re generally either an A.) Yankees fan B.) Mets fan, or C.) Red Sox fan. We don’t have any Major League teams here so depending on the part of the State you’re in, the fandom is one of those three or a combination. We do have the WWE here, and a WNBA team so there are at least some pro athletic things to go to if you refuse to watch the Minors.

    I’m easing back into work after hitting up ConnectiCon. But I’m staying up late, to try to get the next article up ASAP. If I have time on Sunday I might try to get in some game time for myself though. I haven’t played Overwatch in a long ass time, and they’re adding a new character, So I guess I should check that out. again. On the other hand I still have stuff from the Steam Sale to fire up. So we’ll see how it goes.

    Glad you had a great vacay! Woooooo!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, dude! I’d really like to jump back into Overwatch to check out Doomfist, but I let my PS Plus sub lapse last month and have no intention of renewing it soon. I only try to keep that *or* XBL Gold running, never both, and Destiny 2 comes out in two months. I mean, I hate having to pay to play online as a whole, but since it’s a requirement I only do one or the other.

      Hope you enjoyed ConnectiCon. I’m in the middle of nowhere SC and we only have college sports and minor league baseball for the Mets farm team. All of the Carolina teams are up in Charlotte.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. It looks like you had a blast on vacation, and I’m glad you’re back safe and sound. All this talk of great cuisine you experienced has made me hungry! I hope you got a great recharge on your trip and find yourself wanting to dive back into gaming again soon.

    I know it’s not the weekend anymore, but I got lots of video editing done and am working on starting up a new LP soon. I also want to try to play more Dragon Crystal soon. That game is essentially one giant troll session, and I need to tame it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I definitely had a great time with equally great food and company. I’ve gotten back into the groove of things and finished up Virginia on Xbox One and The Blackwell Convergence on PC. I sold a few things on eBay and used the funds to pick up the new Final Fantasy XII remaster, as well as both PS4 Kingdom Hearts remasters. Lots of PS2-era RPG goodness is on the way and should arrive tomorrow or Thursday.

      I still need to wrap up your Phantasy Star LP since I missed the end of the streamed stuff. Happy to see you adding to the YouTube channel!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohhhh I love to hear that you’re expanding your already fabulous PS2 collection. I hope you enjoy the remaster. I’m hoping to play the original again sometime.

        Yeah, seems you have a knack for always missing the endings! I’m going to try to have the last few videos up in the coming weeks. Things are ramping up with work so it’s been tough trying to balance everything. I need less work and more hobby time!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I haven’t been to Baltimore since Otakon 2003, and I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve never been to Mutter even though I grew up around Philly. New York has the best bagels. They’re just amazing, but I prefer thicker crust pizza. We’re getting a cat café near me and I cannot wait.

    You’re making me want to buy FFXV and FFXII, but I’m going to hold off until at least this weekend. I got a tip from Mr. Panda that Switches would be at Target and Best Buy on Friday, so I’m going to try to swoop in.

    I’m still playing Final Fantasiea V, BE, and Type-0. I finished The Room Three, but am going for the other endings. I have to write my review of SOMA and check out the list of other things you messaged me.

    Welcome back and happy you had a great vacay! Oh! And I’m glad the CD got safely to you 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you SO MUCH for the CD! I really appreciate it!

      Good luck on the Switch hunt. Since I finished Zelda and reviewed Thumper, I haven’t used my Switch much. I’m not interested in ARMS and I’ve done all I care to do in Mario Kart for now. That’s good, though, since it’s let me focus on backlog stuff and now FFXII.

      Looking forward to the eventual SOMA review. =)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad it found its way to you! My error or lack of reading turned out well lol.

        I *may* have some good news about that this upcoming Tuesday, but I can’t divulge just yet :p I definitely want BOTW, Mario Kart and Mario Odyssey when that comes out. I think there were a few other games that looked interesting.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Fire Emblem Warriors and Mario Odyssey are my next Switch purchases, and while I’d usually be bummed there isn’t much in the pipeline I’m interested in, it feels nice knowing that my backlog for the next few months is now one console shorter lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Neither are out yet, but come out around the fall/holidays. Fire Emblem Warriors is a Dynasty Warriors type spin-off, kind of like Hyrule Warriors was for Zelda. So no major story or anything, just a hack and slash game with Fire Emblem heroes from throughout the series.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

